Annette Bening - AMPAS governor

Annette Bening has become the new face on the board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The actresss — a three-time Oscar nominee for her performances in “The Grifters,” “American Beauty” and “Being Julia” and who next stars as the gossipy Sylvia Fowler in “The Women” — has been elected as a governor of the actors branch.

As the Academy set about filling three-year terms in 14 of its 15 branches, it also welcomed back five filmmakers who served previous stints on the board but had been away for at least a year, and it re-elected eight incumbent governors.

Those returning to the board after a hiatus are Jeffrey Kurland, in the art directors branch; Martha Coolidge, directors; Arthur Hamilton, music; and Phil Robinson, writers. Don Hall was elected to the sound branch to fill the seat left vacant when J. Paul Huntsman died in February.